|
Chicago Manual of Style Citation Guide[PDF version Author-Date style - for the sciences][PDF version Notes-Bibliography style - for the arts, history, literature]
Introduction
Reference List items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Items are referred to in the body of paper using the In-Text style. Numbers in brackets [ ] refer to the section of the Chicago Manual of Style which describe the specific citation style. Consult these pages for more information. For additional examples, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style available in the Reference collections in many Ohio State University Libraries. (Z253 U69 2003)
Book - (one author)[17.27]
Kourik, Robert. 1998. The lavender garden: beautiful varieties to grow and gather. San Francisco: Chronicle Books. In-Text:
Book - (two to three authors)[17.27]
Flinders, David J. and Geoffrey E. Mills, eds. 1993. Theory and concepts in qualitative research: perspectives from the field. New York: Teachers College Press. In-Text:
Book - (more than three authors)[17.29]
Kimble, John M., Rattan Lal, and Ronald F. Follett, eds. 2002. Agricultural practices and policies for carbon sequestration in soil. Boca Raton, Fla.: Lewis Publishers. In-Text
Book - (corporate or organization author)[17.47]
Ohio State University. Natural Resources Institute. 1959. A directory of Ohio facilities and services for resource conservation. Columbus: Natural Resources Institute. In-Text:
Journal Article - (one author)[17.156] [17.168]
Terborgh, J. 1974. Perservation of natural diversity: The problem of extinction-prone species. BioScience 24:715-22. In-Text:
Journal Article - (two authors)[17.168]
Bolzan, J.F. and K.C. Jezek. 2000. Accumulation rate changes in central Greenland from passive microwave data. Polar Geography 27(4): 277-319. In-Text:
Newspaper Article[17.188]
In-Text:
Encyclopedia Article[17.188]
In-Text:
Electronic Journal or Newspaper Article[17.12] [17.359]
Thomas, Trevor M. 1956. Wales: Land of Mines and Quarries. Geographical Review 46, no. 1: 59-81. http://www.jstor.org/ (accessed June 30, 2005). In-Text:
Electronic Book[17.143]
Rollin, Bernard E. 1998. The Unheeded Cry: Animal Consciousness, Animal Pain, and Science. Ames, Iowa. The Iowa State University Press. http://www.netlibrary.com (accessed June 30, 2005). In-Text:
Web Site[17.356]
Roach, John. 2005. Journal Ranks Top 25 Unanswered Science Questions. http://news.nationalgeographic.com (accessed July 7, 2005). In-Text:
Other Electronic or Internet CitationsTo view other electronic or Internet citations, see:
http://liblearn.osu.edu/tutor/les7/guide.html
Book - (one author)[17.26]
Yow, Valerie Raliegh. Recording oral history: a guide for the humanities and social sciences. Walnut Creek, CA: Alta Mira Press, 2005. Footnote:
Valerie Raliegh Yow. Recording oral history: a guide for the humanities and social sciences (Walnut Creek, CA: Alta Mira Press, 2005).
Book - (two to three authors)
Adams, Don, and Arlene Goldbard. Creative community: the art of cultural development. New York, NY: Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture Division, 2001. Footnote: Don Adams and Arlene Goldbard. Creative community: the art of cultural development (New York, NY: Rockefeller Foundation, Creativity & Culture Division, 2001).
Corporate Author[17.47]
Oberlin College. Conservatory of Music. Library. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection of Autographs, in the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music. Oberlin, OH: Oberlin College Library, 1967. In-Text:
Oberlin College. Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Best Collection of Autographs, in the Mary M. Vial Music Library of the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music (Oberlin, OH: Oberlin College Library, 1967).
Journal Article (one author)[17.156] [17.168]
Banks, William. "A Secret Meeting in Boise." Midwestern Political Review 6 (1958): 26-31. Footnote: William Banks. "A Secret Meeting in Boise" Midwestern Political Review 6 (1958): 29.
Journal Article (two authors)[17.156] [17.168]
Brown, Cecelia M., and Lina Ortega. "Information-seeking Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Does Research Inform Practice?" College & Research Libraries 66 (2005): 231-247. Footnote: Cecelia M. Brown and Lina Ortega. Information-seeking Behavior of Physical Science Librarians: Does Research Inform Practice? College & Research Libraries 66 (2005): 233.
Newspaper Article[17.188]Bibliography:
Footnote
Encyclopedia Article[17.188]
Footnote:
Electronic Journal or Newspaper Article[17.12] [17.359]
Carbado, Devon W. "Black Male Racial Victimhood." Callaloo 21, no. 2 (1998): 337-361. http://www.jstor.org/ (accessed July 8, 2005). Footnote: Devon W. Carbado. "Black Male Racial Victimhood," Callaloo 21, no. 2 (1998), http://www.jstor.org/ (accessed July 8, 2005).
Electronic Book[17.143]
Nydam, Ronald J. Adoptees Come of Age: Living Within Two Families. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 1999. http://www.netlibrary.com (accessed July 8, 2005). Footnote: Ronald J. Nydam. Adoptees Come of Age: Living Within Two Families (Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 1999), http://www.netlibrary.com (accessed July 8, 2005).
Web Site[17.356]
Ellison, Jim. "Assessing the accessibility of fifty United States government Web pages: Using Bobby to check on Uncle Sam." First Monday, volume 9, number 7 (July 2004). http://www.firstmonday.org (accessed June 16, 2005). Footnote: Jim Ellison. "Assessing the accessibility of fifty United States government Web pages: Using Bobby to check on Uncle Sam, (First Monday, 2004), http://www.firstmonday.org (accessed June 16, 2005).
Other Electronic or Internet CitationsTo view other electronic or Internet citations, see:
http://liblearn.osu.edu/tutor/les7/pg3.html
Fred Roecker, Instruction Office, Ohio State University Libraries Last Update: 3/8/06 |